The human being is separated into four hemispheres based upon lines of latitude and also longitude.

The Equator Divides the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres

The equator is an imagine line the is equidistant from the North and also South Poles. This line falls at zero levels latitude.

The Equator is the line of zero degrees latitude roughly the middle of Earth and also is the diving line between the northern and also southern hemispheres. Image: NASA, windy domain.

The part of the earth that is north of the equator is known as the northern Hemisphere. The part of the planet that is south of the equator is well-known as the southerly Hemisphere.

You are watching: Which continents are not crossed by the equator

Prime Meridian Divides the Eastern and also Western Hemispheres

The Western and Eastern Hemisphere are separated by zero degrees longitude i beg your pardon is recognized as the element Meridian.

The western Hemisphere rectal the geographic room west the the element meridian and also east of theantemeridian which lies at 180 degrees longitude.

The eastern Hemisphere is discovered east the the prime Meridian and also west of theantemeridian.

The element Meridian divides the world into the eastern and also western hemispheres. Image: NASA, publicly domain.

The just Continent That have the right to Be discovered in All 4 Hemispheres

While several of the world’s continents are traversed through the separation between two hemispheres, there is just one continent in the human being that lies in all four hemispheres: Africa.

This geography reality also method that Africa is the just continent to have land both in ~ theEquator and the element Meridian.

These 2 maps present how the continent of Africa lies in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres and also the Western and also Eastern Hemispheres.

Map the Africa and also the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres


How many African countries does the Equator happen through?

The Equator passed with a full of seven nations in Africa. Beginning from the west to eastern these countries are: the island nation of São Tomé and Príncipe,Gabon, Republic that Congo, theDemocratic Republic the the Congo (DRC),Uganda,Kenya,and Somalia.

See more: What Is The Time Difference Between Ireland And America, Dublin Time To Est Converter

Map of Africa and also the Westernand EasternHemispheres


How many African nations does the element Meridian happen through?

The prime Meridian crosses through five African countries. Beginning from north to south, these nations are: Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tongo, and Ghana.



Tags Africa, continents, hemispheres, homeschool geography, homework help, political location go into your email to obtain the location Realm newsletter: